February 08, 2006

Sri Aurobindo's works are a great place to start with

Higher level of consciousness equivalences by ebuddha
on Fri 04 Mar 2005 12:50 PM PST Permanent Link
Pongsathorn does a nice job of concisely drawing equlivalences between stages of human development, between Wilber and Kegan. Please take a look, if you get a chance.
There is quite a western history of the view of 8 stages of consciousness, that goes back pretty far. Here's a link to Robert Anton Wilson on the eight systems of consciousness. Tim Leary was drawing these connections in 1962. (He was also attempting to connection them to science, and psychedelics and other goofy stuff, but it is worth reading).
Is there a timeline of how the eight level consciousness has shown up in western thought? I think it would have started with Sri Aurobindo, and then stayed there, getting picked up then in the sixties, and then filtering to the various psychological techniques in the 60's/70's, finally ending with Ken Wilber and the transpersonal pyschologists. Is that accurate?
Comments by Aeh on Fri 04 Mar 2005 09:50 PM EST Permanent Link
Very good comments! Thanks. Sri Aurobindo's works are a great place to start with in this long journey.

No comments:

Post a Comment